The David Ross Education Trust

David Ross Education Trust schools create a rich and exciting learning environment that inspires students to become their confident, academic best.

Learn More

pull-out button for trust tab

Greenfields Primary School & Nursery

Greenfields Primary School and Nursery stands proud as an oasis in the community where every child has the right to succeed and feel proud of their individual achievements.

 Academy Information

Aspiration. Ambition. Courage. Respect

Greenfields Primary School stands proud as the oasis in the community where every child has the right to succeed and feel proud of their individual achievements.

Our pupils are proud of their gifts and talents and as a school we strive not only to identify these but to celebrate each child’s successes of any size.

We are a vibrant, happy and caring school where the pupils achieve the highest possible standards. Staff, pupils and parents work together within a creative, active and positive learning environment to ensure security, stability and success for every child.

Our Aims

  • To create a happy and caring school where the pupils are keen to learn, are offered a variety of experiences and everyone is valued
  • To set the highest expectations of pupil achievement, attitudes, welfare and behaviour
  • To develop positive, respectful relationships between staff, parents and pupils to enhance pupil achievement and help to promote our school in the local community
  • To embrace new initiatives to help establish creative, active, and positive learning experiences within a modern and vibrant environment
  • To offer an inclusive education which emphasises security, stability and success for all our pupils

Our School Day

  • 8.40am School Day starts
  • 10.45am-11.00am Morning Break for KS1 and KS2
  • 12.00pm Lunch Break
  • 13.00pm Afternoon lessons begin
  • 15.10pm School finishes for EYFS and KS1
  • 15.20pm School finishes for KS2

Meet our Staff

Senior Leadership Team

Headteacher: Mrs Sandra Appleby
Deputy Headteacher: Mrs Claire Tyrrell-Smith
EYFS Specialist: Miss Rebecca Wood
Assistant Headteacher: Mrs Amelia Holdcroft

Assistant  Headteacher: Mrs Eve Kenny

Admin Team

Senior Academy Administrators: Mrs Andrea Harper and Mrs Lesley Chattaway
Academy Administrators: Mrs Clare Jones and Mrs Amy Critchley

Inclusion Team

SENCo: Mrs Claire Tyrrell-Smith
Family Support Workers: Mrs Elizabeth Baker and Mrs Wahida McNally

On Site Team

Site Supervisor: Mr Brian Jones
Cleaners: Mrs Trudi Cox, Ms Michaela Soltesova

Lunchtime Team

Senior Lunchtime Playworkers: Mrs Mandy Elliott
Lunchtime Playworkers:  Miss Michaela Soltesova, Ms Mariana Schiopu and Mx Melissa Paton

Pastoral and Inclusion Team

Safeguarding Lead and SENCO: Claire Tyrrell-Smith
Family Support Worker: Elizabeth Baker/Rachael Taplin
Behaviour Lead: Danielle Wensley
EYFS Pastoral Lead: Madeleine Byrne
KS1 Pastoral Lead: Abigail Topps
LKS2 Pastoral Lead: Danielle Wensley
UKS2 Pastoral Lead: Tony Hughes

Curriculum Leadership Team

English: Abigail Topps/ Danielle Wensley/Lucy Black/Della Mitchell
Maths: Madeleine Byrne/Alice Green/Tony Hughes
Science: Sophie Wibberley/Berlinda Asumang 
History and Geography: Lucy Black/Tony Hughes
Art: Kirsty Casey
Design and Technology: Jessan Ali/Sukhjinder Birdy
PSHE: Della Mitchell
Computing: Madeleine Byrne
Physical Education: Tony Hughes
Modern Foreign Languages (Spanish): Madeleine Byrne
Music: Abigail Topps/ James Thorne

House Leads 

Adlington: Tony Hughes

Ennis: Abigail Topps

Farah: Danielle Wensley

Hoy: Madeleine Byrne

Meet our Teaching Team

Show list Show Grid